Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Remember the days when your child’s tears could be fixed with a diaper change, a feeding, or a band-aid and a kiss?  Unfortunately, there comes a time when band-aids will no longer heal their wounds.

It’s one thing to go through a trial that stretches your faith beyond what you thought was possible, but it is quite a test to watch your child (or someone you love like he or she is your child) go through such difficulties, especially when there is nothing you can do to ease their pain.  How do you comfort them when a loved one dies, when a parent is struggling with an addiction, when someone has physically or emotionally harmed them, when justice for them hinges on a slow-moving judicial system, or when they themselves are battling with a terminal illness?  These are things that can make a parent, grandparent, aunt, or uncle feel totally helpless.

I do not have children yet, but there are children in my life who I love like my own.  Currently, one of them is going through a difficult time, and my first reaction was to leap into rescue mode.  But, after you’ve encouraged them, after you’ve prayed for them, after you’ve made phone calls and sought medical or legal experts, there comes a time when the only thing you can do is trust God.  Yeah, I can trust God when it’s me, but when it’s one of my babies…it becomes downright painful.

Yesterday, the pastor preached about the Kingdom of God, and the peace therein when you truly let go and cast all your cares upon the Father, knowing that He already has every resource needed to address the circumstances in your life (or your child’s life).  Not only that, but He already knows HOW He’s going to resolve it.

As he spoke to the congregation, God spoke to me.  He said, remember how you told that child, “we’ve heard what’s on your heart, and I want you to know that we’re working on it.  Don’t you worry about this, let the adults handle it.  You’re a child, it’s our job to take care of you.  All we want you to do is focus on school, and leave all of this to us, okay.”?  God said, “I want you to take your own advice.  I have heard your prayers concerning that child, and I’m working on it, but I need you to trust me and be patient.  Don’t you worry about it, let me handle it.  You’re My child, it’s my job to take care of the things that concern you – including the things that concern the child(ren) that you love.  Do what you can, and leave the rest to me, okay.”  What an epiphany this was…and a relief.  While children look to us for the things they can’t handle, we can look to God for the things we can’t handle concerning them.  Yes, we’re the adults, but we don’t have to do it all alone – we have a Father that we can go to.

II Chronicles 20:15b – “Be not afraid nor dismayed…for the battle is not yours, but God’s.” 

Anything we can’t handle automatically falls in His realm.  When children run into situations they can’t handle, they come to us.  We should do the same and go to our Father with things that we can’t handle – especially concerning our children.

I leave you with one of my favorite prayers, The Serenity Prayer:

Lord, grant me the serenity to accept (or trust You for) the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can,

And the wisdom to know the difference.

God bless, and do be encouraged.